MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE COUNCIL HELD ON THURSDAY, 24 MAY 2012

COUNCILLORS

- PRESENT Kate Anolue (Mayor), Chaudhury Anwar MBE (Deputy Mayor), Alan Barker, Ali Bakir, Caitriona Bearryman, Chris Bond, Yasemin Brett, Lee Chamberlain, Bambos Charalambous, Yusuf Cicek, Christopher Cole, Andreas Constantinides, Ingrid Cranfield, Christopher Deacon, Christiana During, Patricia Ekechi, Achilleas Georgiou, Del Goddard, Ahmet Hasan, Elaine Hayward, Robert Hayward, Ertan Hurer, Tahsin Ibrahim, Chris Joannides, Eric Jukes, Jon Kaye, Nneka Keazor, Joanne Laban, Henry Lamprecht, Michael Lavender, Derek Levy, Paul McCannah, Donald McGowan, Chris Murphy, Terence Neville OBE JP, Ahmet Oykener, Anne-Marie Pearce, Daniel Pearce, Martin Prescott, Geoffrey Robinson, Michael Rye OBE, George Savva MBE, Rohini Simbodyal, Toby Simon, Alan Sitkin, Andrew Stafford, Doug Taylor, Glynis Vince, Ozzie Uzoanya, Tom Waterhouse, Lionel Zetter and Ann Zinkin
- ABSENT Jayne Buckland, Alev Cazimoglu, Dogan Delman, Marcus East, Jonas Hall, Christine Hamilton, Denise Headley, Dino Lemonides, Simon Maynard, Ayfer Orhan and Edward Smith

22

ELECTION (IF REQUIRED) OF THE CHAIR/DEPUTY CHAIR OF THE MEETING

Not required.

23 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Jayne Buckland, Alev Cazimoglu, Dogan Delman, Marcus East, Jonas Hall, Christine Hamilton, Denise Headley, Dino Lemonides and Ayfer Orhan.

Apologies for lateness were received from Councillors Ali Bakir, Christopher Cole, Ahmet Hasan, Martin Prescott and Ozzie Uzoanya.

24 DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

None received.

25

HONORARY FREEDOM OF THE LONDON BOROUGH OF ENFIELD - CEREMONY

Councillor Taylor moved the following motion inviting the Council to confer the Freedom of the Borough on the individuals nominated. In moving the motion he highlighted:

- the origins of the role enjoyed by Freeman of the Borough;
- that the award, whilst no longer conveying any specific legal rights or responsibilities (other than ceremonial), was now used to recognise where local people have either achieved something outstanding or made a significant contribution to their locality or local community. It was felt this could clearly be demonstrated in the case of all ten of the new Honorary Freeman who had been nominated for the award.

"That in pursuance of the Local Government Act 1972, The Honorary Freedom of the London Borough of Enfield be conferred upon:

Alex Mattingly

in recognition of his long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution as a councillor to personnel issues and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held.

Bevin Betton

in recognition of his long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution to community relations as Chair of Enfield Racial Equality Council and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held.

Geoffrey Mills

In recognition of his long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution to education and as independent chair of the Council's Standards Committee and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held

Jeff Rodin

In recognition of his long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution as Leader of the Council and as a councillor and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held.

John Boast

in recognition of his long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution as a councillor to education and housing and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held

Norma Morris

in recognition of her long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For her outstanding contribution to the local arts community working for Chickenshed and as an expression of the high esteem in which she is held.

Rita Miller

in recognition of her long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For her outstanding contribution to the voluntary sector, in particular the Women's Voluntary Service and Dr Johnson's House and as an expression of the high esteem in which she is held.

Dr Stephen Dowbiggin OBE

In recognition of his long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution to education as Chief Executive & Principal of Capel Manor College and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held.

Tony Dey

in recognition of his long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution as a councillor to planning and conservation and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held.

Vivien Giladi

in recognition of her long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For her outstanding contribution as a councillor to health and as an expression of the high esteem in which she is held.

Councillor Lavender seconded the motion, endorsing and supporting the comments made by Councillor Taylor in moving the motion, whilst also providing further detail on the origins and background on the role of Honorary Freeman. All of the individuals nominated were congratulated on their award.

The Mayor then invited the Council to agree the motion, which had been moved and seconded. The Council unanimously agreed the motion (as set out below).

RESOLVED that pursuant to the Local Government Act 1972, The Honorary Freedom of the London Borough of Enfield be conferred upon:

Alex Mattingly Bevin Betton Geoffrey Mills Jeff Rodin John Boast Norma Morris Rita Miller Dr Stephen Dowbiggin OBE Tony Dey Vivien Giladi.

The Mayor then called upon the Chief Executive to administer the Oath of an Honorary Freeman, as follows:

"Do you, Alex Mattingly, Bevin Betton, Geoffrey Mills, Jeff Rodin, John Boast, Norma Morris, Rita Miller, Dr Stephen Dowbiggin OBE, Tony Dey and Vivien Giladi.

Solemnly and sincerely declare that you will abide in peace and tranquillity within the London Borough of Enfield, and with all those who have their lawful business within its bounds, including the Mayor and Council, whom you will aid with your best counsel and advice, and uphold and defend the provisions of the Charter granted by our Sovereign Lady Queen Elizabeth the Second, and all observances and customs of this London Borough defend and keep."

All of the Honorary Freeman replied "I do".

The Mayor then rose and said to each of the ten new Honorary Freeman, in turn:

"Honorary Freeman of the London Borough of Enfield, in accordance with the ancient custom I give you the hand of Friendship as an Honorary Freeman of the London Borough and I now invite you to sign the Roll of Honorary Freemen and to accept this Badge and certificate of Freedom".

The Mayor, having witnessed each of the new Honorary Freemen sign the Roll of Honorary Freeman, along with the Chief Executive, then presented each of them with a badge and certificate.

Having accepted their badge and certificate each of the new Honorary Freeman then addressed the Council, in turn, taking the opportunity to offer their thanks for the award.

The Mayor then closed the meeting and invited all of the Honorary Freeman and their guests, along with members of the Council to join her for a reception.